

# Vol. 2 No. 5 3516 Camp Bowie Blvd., Fort Worth, Texas 76107 October, 1973 DEPARTMENT HEAD APPOINTMENTS ANNOUNCED

Milton Glenn has joined the college staff as Director of Accounting. A graduate of North Texas State University with a degree in business administration, he previously sold real estate and did public relations work for a neighborhood security company in Dallas.



Glenn lives on the west side of Fort Worth and is married with one child. He has traveled extensively and speaks French and German.

DIRECTOR OF ACCOUNTING NAMED



'SPECULUM' STAFF – Students at TCOM are working like proverbial beavers to produce the college's first yearbook – to be called the Speculum. The first edition will celebrate the graduation of TCOM's first class and the 100th anniversary of osteopathic medicine. Staff members include: (from upper left) S/Ds. Pat Pasco, Opening; Peggy Hall, Activities; Pat Bell, Seniors; Mark Holton, Basic Sciences; Chuck O'Toole, Administration and Staff; Rich Cocherger, Advertising; front row, from left, Steve Price, Clinical ences; Bill O'Connell and Larry Farr, Editors-in-Chief.

## NOTABLES

Texas Osteopathic Medical Association scholarships have been awarded to four TCOM freshmen - J. W. CZEWSKI, John E. MIERS and Pat STENGER, all of Fort Worth; and Albert KINCHELOE of Cross Plains, Texas. Kincheloe won the coveted Phil R. RUSSELL scholarship worth \$1000... A two-man segment of the AOA committee on colleges - Drs. Albert O'DONNELL and Donald HINTON - conducted a two-day inspection on October 4, 5. he entire accreditation team will return in January . . . With the ent election of Robert IRVIN, Fort Worth, as FRESHMAN ss PREXY, all four classes have selected their complete complement of officers. Other class presidents include Senior David RAY, Junior Robert WILSON, and Sophomore Terry LEEVER . . . The Students' Wives Auxiliary honored Mrs. George J. LUIBEL, president-elect of the Auxiliary to the American Osteopathic Association. with a TEA . . . Mr. Eugene de KIEFFER, former board member and more recently a special assistant to the president, suffered a fatal heart attack on September 15 . . . Edna STOKES, receptionistbookkeeper at the Rosedale Outpatient clinic, reports that Dr. William A. GRIFFITH, director, and his staff of student-doctors have treated 228 patients since its opening in July . . . S/D Clint BURNS, Dallas Junior, is the 1973-74 president of the Student . . . The Development and P.R. office is growing; Linda Council CUMMING, former newspaper "copy girl," has been added to the Staff

BASIC SCIENCE FACULTY

# INCREASED AT NTSU

120 CLINICIANS IN TEACHING ROLES

Department chairmen in both basic sciences and clinical sciences for the 1973-74 academic year have been named, announced Dr. Edward T. Newell, vice president of academic affairs.

Basic science chairmen are James Carnes, Ph.D., anatomy; John F. Gaugl, Ph.D., physiology; Elizabeth Harris, Ph.D., microbiology; Charles G. Skinner, Ph.D., biochemistry; and Elroy T. Cantrell, Ph.D., pharmacology. Dr. Carnes is acting head of anatomy department during the absence of Mrs. Mary Lu Schunder, permanent chairman, who is on leave while completing her doctorate.

The first two years are taught at North Texas State University, where Dr. J. K. G. Silvey, distinguished chairman of the biology department for many years, is acting director of basic health sciences, a new program inaugurated at NTSU this year.

The clinical curriculum includes 15 departments, and two D.Os., new to TCOM, head psychiatry and rehabilitative medicine, respectively. They are Dr. Raymond A. Conn, formerly with KCOM and St. John's Mercy Medical Center, St. Louis; and Dr. Wayne R. English, Jr., who taught at Kirksville Osteopathic Hospital prior to accepting the department chairmanship at TCOM. Dr. English also holds a M.A. degree from Northeast Missouri State University.

Other clinical department heads include: Joel Alter, D.O., Surgery; Edward A. Becka, D.O., Ophthalmology and Otorhinolaryngology; Charles R. Biggs, D.O., Neurosciences; Catherine Carlton, D.O., Osteopathic Theory and Technique; J. F. De Petris, D.O., Medicine; John C. Kemplin, D.O., Radiology; Robert L. Moore, D.O., and Patrick Philben, D.O., co-chairmen, Pediatrics; J. Thomas O'Shea, D.O., Pathology; T. Robert Sharp, D.O., General Practice; Paul A. Stern, D.O., Anesthesiology; Lee J. Walker, D.O., acting chairman, Ob-Gyn; and Tom W. Whittle, D.O., Psychology.



DR. ENGLISH

DR. CONN

DR. ALTER

Dr. Alter has been closely identified with college activities for several years. He served on the original curriculum committee. The basic sciences faculty currently include: John E. Aschenbrenner, Ph.D., assistant professor, anatomy; David L. Busbee, Ph.D., assistant professor, microanatomy; Elroy T. Cantrell, Ph.D., assistant professor, pharmacology; Robert W. Gracy, Ph.D., associate professor, biochemistry; Ben G. Harris, Ph.D., associate professor, physiology, biochemistry; Betty A. Hatten, Ph.D., assistant professor, microbiology; Robert L. Kaman, Ph.D., assistant professor, physiology; Peter D. Keyser, Ph.D., assistant professor, microbiology; Robert E. Kingsley, Ph.D., assistant professor, physiology; Richard J. Laurence, Ph.D., assistant professor, pharmacologyphysiology; James R. Lott, Ph.D. professor, physiology; Scott Norton, Ph.D., professor, biochemistry; David R. Redden, Ph.D., professor, physiology; Victoria Rudick, Ph.D., lecturer, biochemistry; Charles Rudolph, Ph.D., assistant professor, part-time, biochemistry; Tim Sullivan, lecturer, biochemistry; and Thomas G. Weilepp, Jr., M.A., assistant professor, physiology.

### HELP!

Recently we changed our ways and have gone to a new system of addressing the TCOM News. If your address is wrong or you know of someone not receiving the News, please let us know so we can correct the error.





THREE AMONG MANY – Dr. C. E. Dickey, (center) chairman, reflects a serious mood just before calling to order a meeting of Friends of TCOM. The chairman is flanked by two of the nine founders of the organization which serves as a booster group and substitute alumni for the college. They are Dr. W. R. Jenkins, left, and Dr. Hugo Ranelle.



JUNIOR CLASS members depict "togetherness" during preparation for examinations. This shot was taken in the Library in the Administration building, 3516 Camp Bowie.



LECTURER – Dr. J. S. Dinslow, vice president of KCOM, speaks to a joint session of freshmen and sophomores assembled in their NTSU classroom. Dr. Dinslow was the first of a group of distinguished professors who will address the basic science students during the fall semester.



JOYFUL OCCASION – Dr. George J. Luibel, left, TCOM board chairman, reflects pleasure in receiving gift checks from contributing pharmaceutical firms during the Dallas testimonial dinner honoring Drs. Sam and Marille Sparks. Dr. John Burnett, TCOM board member, presented the gifts in behalf of the donors.



ROSEDALE CLINIC houses four treatment rooms, examination room, lab, waiting room, supervisor's office and reception area.



AWARD - Russell C. McCaughan scholarship winner Harold D. Lewis thanks Dr. Edward T. Newell, TCOM vice president of academic affairs, who presented the NOF check to the sophomore.